HomeOrlando FLUniversal’s Islands of Adventure

Universal’s Islands of Adventure

Universal’s Islands of Adventure Universal’s Islands of Adventure Photo by Jeremy Thompson

Islands of Adventure opened in 1999 as a separate park from the original Universal Studios. It consists of seven themed parts – Port of Entry, Marvel Superhero Island, Toon Lagoon, Jurassic Park, The Wizarding World of Harry Potter, The Lost Continent and Seuss Landing. Some of the characters walking around the park are superheroes such as Spider-man and Wolverine.

Port of Entry – Mostly noted for its restaurants and shops, Port of Entry is just what the name suggests it is. It has a lighthouse that greets visitors and guides their way in or out of the main gates.

Marvel Superhero Island – This is the area where you will find such superheroes as the X-Men and Spiderman, Captain America and the Hulk. It presents thrilling rides named after these superheroes. The architecture of this land reflects a comic book style. An electrifying 3-D simulator follows Spiderman as defeats villains.

Toon Lagoon – This area has water based rides. Prepare to get wet. Those who are not on the rides have the option to soak those who are on the rides with water cannons placed strategically. Dudley Do-Right’s Ripsaw Falls is a log flume ride, as well as a raft type ride named after Pop-Eye cartoons.

Jurassic Park - Named after the Steven Spielberg movie, this area has five main attractions. They are: Jurassic Park River Adventure is a water ride, Jurassic Park Discovery Center a large interactive dinosaur museum, Pteranodon Flyers, Camp Jurassic and Triceratops Discovery Trail which is a walk through attraction allowing guests to get up close and personal with a Triceratops dinosaur.

Wizarding World of Harry PotterThe Wizarding World of Harry Potter – Forbidden Forrest, Hogsmeade Village and Hogwart Castle are some of the attractions. The five main attractions explore the Potter characters, movies and books, they include: Harry Potter and the Forbidden Journey, Dragon Challenge, Flight of the Hippogriff, Vikoma, and Ollivanders.

The Lost Continent – This Island is aimed toward mythical legends. It is divided into two smaller areas. These are Arabian Marketplace and Lost City. The three main attractions are: The Eighth Voyage of Sinbad, The Mystic Fountain and Poseidon’s Fury.

Seuss Landing – This island is geared toward small children. It includes six attractions young children will love: The Cat in the Hat, the High-in-the-Sky Seuss Trolley Train Ride, One Fish Two Fish Red Fish Blue Fish, Caro-Seuss-el, Oh the Stories You’ll Hear and If I Ran the Zoo.


Universal CityWalk hours: 11:00 a.m. to 2:00 a.m. - 365 days a year
Universal Studios and Universal's Islands of Adventure are open 365 days a year.
      • Operating hours begin at 9am and closing times vary.
6000 Universal Blvd Orlando, FL 32819
(407) 224-4233