A group of Mormon heralds were the first non-native permanent settlers in Las Vegas who built a fort made of adobe along the Las Vegas Creek around 1855. The adobe fort was known as Las Vegas Old Mormon Fort. They farmed the fort by diverting water from the Las Vegas Creek. Today, this historic park includes remains of the adobe original fort that contains informative displays. The Visitor Area contains a historical exhibit of the place as well as historical artifacts. The historical ambiance and interpretations will inspire the focus of the Historical Park. Las Vegas Old Mormon Fort is found downtown in Las Vegas at the crossing of Washington Ave. and Vegas Boulevard. The Historical Park is open from 8:00 in the morning to 4:30 in the afternoon, Tuesday to Saturday, all year round.
The name Las Vegas came from the Spanish word that means meadows. In 1855, on the month of June, William Bringhurst and twenty nine Mormon fellowmen arrived from Utah at the Las Vegas Creek and built a 150 square foot adobe fort, the first structure permanently built in the valley. The Mormon settlement, with a complete post office, served as a station for travelers. The Las Vegas Creek provides irrigation for orchard and fields. Later that time, major problems occurred in establishing mining and smelting areas. The place was passed to different individuals and later became one of the largest metropolitan areas. The Las Vegas Old Mormon Fort remains one of the most historical places in Las Vegas. The historical ambiance of the place remains the same even if years had passed.